Last updated: June 14th, 2017
This website is using the open source tool Piwik. Piwik collects non-personally-identifying information such as the Internet protocol (IP) address of your computer (or the proxy server you use to access the web), your computer operating system and browser type, language, referring site, and the date and time of each visitor request. This non-personally-identifying information is only used to analyze overall trends to help us improve our service. The link between this information and your personally identifiable information is never shared with third-parties without your permission or except when required by law.
We will not rent or sell potentially personally-identifying and personally-identifying information to anyone.
Creating your ‘Spreed Name’
To create your ‘Spreed Name’ click on the button „Get started” on www.spreed.me, set your ‘Spreed Name’ and password and upload a security picture to secure your account.
Spreed.ME does not ask for your email address, therefore ‘Spreed Names’ can not be mapped to users. To secure your account, you have to upload a security picture. The image itself is not stored, but used temporarily to calculate a SHA-256 finger print (hash value). This hash value will be used to restore your account in case you lose your password.
Your security picture and password will be stored as salted SHA-256 hashes. It is technically not possible to restore your password or security picture out of the hash value.
If you invite other people to Spreed.ME, they will be informed about your ‘Spreed Name’. The email address of the person you invite to Spreed.ME is only used for invitation, thus not stored persistently.
You can use the Spreed.ME service anonymous. After creating your ‘Spreed Name’ you can edit your personal settings – upload/take a photo of yourself, insert your name and add a status message. Please keep in mind that your public profile information is visible for other Spreed.ME users which are in the same Spreed.ME room. The data you enter in your public profile is not stored persistently. If you delete your browser history or use the Spreed.ME service on another PC or browser, you have to fill out your profile data again.
The files or presentations uploaded in your video calls are only shared with the people in your calls. Your calls are private and cannot be accessed by third parties.
Spreed.ME screen sharing extension
Using our screen sharing extension for your secure Iridium Browser or Google Chrome, you can share your whole screen or a single window with other users in your video conference. There is no installation on your computer necessary, the shared data is not stored and cannot be accessed by third parties.
Use the public chat (room chat, visible for all people in the same room) or private chat (visible only for the person you are chatting with). You can share your location via Google Maps or send files. Chat history is not stored.
By clicking on the star icon beside the profile picture of a user you can add him or her to your temporary contact list. Your contacts are not stored persistently.
If you lose your password, click on “Problems signing in?” to reset your password. Enter your ‘Spreed Name’ and upload your security picture or alternatively enter your SuperPIN and set a new password. If you forgot your ‘Spreed Name’ as well as your password and can’t remember your security picture (or lost it), it is not possible to recover your account. Please create a new ‘Spreed Name’.
To delete your ‘Spreed Name’, sign in with your credentials and click on “Manage Spreed Name” after clicking on “Settings“. In addition to other account management possibilities (change password/Spreed Name/Super PIN/security picture), you can delete your ‘Spreed Name’ here. This cannot be undone and your ‘Spreed Name’ as well as all of your settings will be deleted irrevocably.
Spreed.ME provides true end-to-end perfect-forward-secrecy (PFS) data security with industry-leading 256-bit AES encryption. Swiss trust center security with 2048-bit RSA key length certificates provide measures that address both passive and active attacks against confidentiality, integrity and identity.
If you place an order in our online store, we will need your delivery and/or invoice address to fulfill your order. In detail:
- First name, last name, company (if any)
- Street, house number
- ZIP, city
- Telephone number, if necessary
- VAT-ID if you are a company ordering from Europe
Only the data we really need to fulfill your order will be saved and deleted from our systems after the legal period has passed.
To deliver your order, if it’s a physical product, we will forward your address to the transport services provider of our choice, usually we are sending our products via UPS (United Parcel Service). Apart from that we will never forward your data to anyone.
Privacy notice of UPS:
Right now, the following methods of payment are available:
- Bank transfer
Others will follow. After receiving your payment, we will send the goods to the delivery address you provided.
Right to information
In accordance with the German Federal Data Protection Art (BDSG) you have the right to be provided with information free of charge relating to your stored data and, where applicable, a right to have this data amended, blocked or deleted. Please contact us (email@example.com) for more information.
For questions regarding your stored data, please contact us: